Be Your Own Hero

As I was cleaning my room today, this years winner of the Eurovision Song Contest (and also my fellow countryman) Måns Zelmerlöw with his song Heroes started blasting out of my little laptop. I’ve loved this song since the first time I heard it for a very simple reason – The chorus is spot on! Because we ARE “the heroes of our time” and we ARE “dancing with the demons in out minds”!

I know that, to get to where I want to be, I need to stop comparing myself to others. I need to be my own hero. But I’m constantly battling with my own demons, or “brain ghosts” as I like to call them – always second-guessing and talking myself out of things. That is one of the reasons I always try, and think it’s extremely important, to look at other people and, instead of comparing myself to them, let them and their struggles motivate and inspire me. There are so many strong people out there that I can’t help it!

I guess what I’m trying to say is that, as important as it is to let other people inspire you – and to let them be your heroes – you can’t always rely on other people to find motivation. This is why it’s important that you are your own hero first and foremost.

And whoever you are – yes you! – reading this, I want you to know you’re already my hero – for being who you are and for all the things you have overcome and all the things you are currently fighting – You’re a trooper! Now go on and be your own hero as well! I know you can do it… 🙂 Go out there and make the world a better place! And, who knows, maybe in a couple of weeks we can start our own “Superhero – crew”! 😉

lipstickheader

Leave a Reply

