Everything In Moderation

As someone coming from a country that actually has a word for when something is “just right” (not to little, not to much), and a society that prefers things to be just so, I guess it’s no surprise that I believe in everything in moderation and tend to ignore all the “health scares” we’re being bombarded with on a daily basis – “Exercise every day!”, “Cut out sugar”, “Butter is bad for you!”. I’m not saying that all these messages are all wrong – on the contrary, it’s good to be mindful and not overdo your eating of ONE certain thing. But I also don’t think you should “Overdo” exercise. 

It feels like I enter the “lovely land of diets” every time I go to work. Everyone seems to be on some die at or other. Maybe it’s because I’m a lot younger than most of them – and, hence, in their opinion “don’t have to worry about my figure just yet” – or maybe it’s just because of who I am as a person.

See, I was raised by a mother who suffered from anorexia when she was in her early 20s. It took for a doctor to tell her that her condition was so severe that if she didn’t change her ways, there was a very high risk that she would never be able to have children. That was enough for my mom to actually take stock and realize what she was actually doing to herself and she turned her life around. I think it’s because of that ordeal that she has always raised me and my sister to not focus so much on our weight but rather feeling good and being healthy in general. She never encouraged us to weigh ourselves at home (I’m not so sure we even owned scales), she let us eat whatever we wanted (within reason) – sweets were only allowed on the weekends though” – while also encouraging us to have active hobbies that we enjoyed (I went to dance class once a week whereas my sister was more into sports, and during the winter months we used to ski), but she never forced us and she was never one of those parents who pushed us to be busy with activities ALL THE TIME.

I believe it’s thanks to my mother that I have never been on a diet in my entire life. I know I’m not the healthiest person in the world (I mean, I can binge on cookies and ice cream just as well as the next person) but I’m doing my best. I’ve found activities that I love (pilates, tai chi and walking) and I’d rather allow myself to eat that extra cookie and do an extra half hours pilates or go for an extra walk than forbid myself to have it. I eat what I feel like eating, and I tell myself that on the odd occasion when a workout feels more like a chore than anything, I won’t do it! – For me to do it it needs to be fun, or at the very least SEMI-ENJOYABLE, not yet another thing to stress about.

At the end of the day, I don’t judge. This is just my experience and it works for me. If diets work for people and it doesn’t get out of hand, then that’s great! And if some people like to do a hardcore workout everyday then power to ’em! (even if I personally don’t see why anyone in their right mind would do that…#semilazybumtalking). I guess I’ve just seen to many people stress too much about their eating, or about missing that ONE workout session, and I just don’t think it should be like that… It’s no big deal! Ok, so eating an insane amount of sugar everyday isn’t healthy, nor is smoking 100 cigarettes a day and being severely obese… But stressing about everything all the time is not healthy either…

lipstickheader

2 thoughts on “Everything In Moderation

Leave a Reply

