Do I Practice What I Preach?

Honestly? In this case, I’m not so sure! I always preach to other people about how it’s important to realize that people can change in certain aspects and how it’s important to let them.

I’m not the same person I was ten years ago and it annoys the crap out of me when I meet people I haven’t met in a long time, seemingly trying to ‘push me back’ into who I used to be when we used to know each other. However, recently, I’ve realised that maybe I’m guilty of doing the same when it comes to one or two people from my past.

It all started a while back, when one of my ‘blasts from the past’ got back in touch with me when he was in town. We used to know know each other back in Uni (well, actually ‘know’ is an exaggeration…we used to ‘hook up’) and he was a right ‘ladies man’ – anything in a pair of knickers, I tell ya! After that we’ve only really talked once up until he got back in touch again.

Now, I know I’ve changed a lot since Uni. I mean, most people have – Life goes on! But for some reason, at first glance, he doesn’t seem to have changed at all. There are times when he’ll say something that makes me feel like maybe he has changed a bit. But then, just when I’m about to ‘give him a chance’ and have an adult conversation, he’ll say something else…and I’m right back to thinking he hasn’t changed.

Now, I have to ask myself whether he REALLY hasn’t changed… Or whether is it just that I’m not ‘letting him’ change? We see what we want to see, don’t we? Do people ever really change? If not, is it because they actually can’t or because we don’t let them (and so it’s easier for them to remain who they’ve always been?)?

lipstickheader

Leave a Reply

